Jump to Page: 1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8

Getting to
know your

Port Responsibilities

    Public port districts are authorized by state law to undertake many activities to enhance the economic welfare of local communities. These regulations authorize the Port of Walla Walla to do the following:

Port of Walla Walla Commission

Secretary Paul Schneidmiller,
Vice President Ken Jantz,
President Fred Bennett

    Develop waterfronts, airports and other facilities for handling cargo and passengers.

    Provide capital improvements needed for industrial and manufacturing facilities within the Port District.

    Improve Port District lands so they can be sold or leased for industrial and commercial purposes.

    Undertake and adopt comprehensive development plans for the Port District.

    Execute business recruitment strategies.

    Levy taxes and sell bonds to develop properties and manufacturing facilities.

Port Leadership

    The Port of Walla Walla has three elected commissioners who represent you...the shareholders. The commissioners are Ken Jantz, president, Paul Schneidmiller, vice president, and Fred Bennett, secretary. While all commissioners are elected on a county-wide basis, each must live in a specific commissioner district within Walla Walla County. The districts are the same as the Walla Walla county commissioner districts.
    Bennett, a retired Walla Walla College professor of engineering, represents District 3, including College Place, Touchet, Lowden, Burbank, Eureka, Clyde and the western part of the county.
    Jantz, a Waitsburg wheat rancher, represents District 2, which includes the eastern third of the City of Walla Walla, Dixie, Waitsburg and Prescott.
    Schneidmiller, president of World Wide Travel Service, Inc., represents District 1, which encompasses more than half the City of Walla Walla and the Stateline area.

    Each commissioner serves a six-year term. Terms are staggered so that one position is up for election every two years. Commissioners decide each year who will hold the offices of president, vice president and secretary.
    Port of Walla Walla Commissioners, and those at other Ports with similar business volume, are entitled to $70 per day compensation for each day or portion of a day spent attending meetings or performing other services on behalf of the Port District.
    The law prohibits commissioners from receiving more than $6,720 per year in such compensation. In addition, Port Commissioners receive a salary of up to $500 per month.

Port Finances

    Ports may levy, without a public vote, a property tax of no more than 45-cents per $1,000 of assessed property valuation for general Port purposes. When an industrial development district is formed under state law, commissioners may levy an additional 45-cents per $1,000 of assessed value for a period of no longer than 12 years.
     The Port of Walla Walla currently levies only the first tax for general port purposes. Including revenue from the Walla Walla Regional Airport, the Port District receives only 12 percent of its revenues from property taxes.
     Washington State law provides for Port Commissioners to designate administrative powers and duties to the managing official of the Port District. This is done with a Port Commission resolution establishing guidelines and procedures for the managing official to follow. In that manner, the Executive Director and his or her staff can perform their duties in a timely and efficient manner. Still, as policy makers, Port commissioners remain responsible for district operations.
     Port of Walla Walla Commissioners meet on the second and fourth Wednesday of each month at the Port office.

Port of Walla Walla Budget

2003 Revenues • $10,802,298

2003 Expenses • $11,164,275

The Port has established reserve funds for the Port and Airport. The Port utilizes these reserves to assist with financing capital improvements.

Port of Walla Walla Staff
Jim Kuntz
Executive Director
Larry Adams
Airport Manager
Paul Gerola
Economic Dev. Director
Ron Johnson
Assistant Airport Manager
Jackie Hardesty
Auditor/ Treasurer
Becky Hulse
Admin. Assistant
Jennifer Skoglund
Admin. Assistant
Ken Clayton
Fire/Sec. Captain
Brent Partlow
Mike Graves
Jake Riggs
Gary Stewart
Elias Alonso
Darren Brinson
Louis Gagnon
Randy Hammond
Summer Crew
Rod Starks
Summer Crew
Marcello Sotelo
Summer Crew
Adrian Alonso
Summer Crew
Walla Walla Area
Small Business Center
Rich Monacelli
Port of Walla Walla Watch
Carl Tyler
Design / Editor
Port of Walla Walla
310 A Street
Walla Walla Regional Airport
Walla Walla, Washington 99362
Phone: 509-525-3100
Fax: 509-525-3101
Jump to Page: 1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8

Copyright © 2002 Port of Walla Walla. All Rights Reserved. Terms of Use
Web Site Design by Walla Walla Web Weavers