Jump to Page: 1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8

Getting to know your Port
Port of Walla Walla Commissioners
Photo by Donna Lasater

Port of Walla Walla Commissioners
Secretary Paul Schneidmiller, President Dr. Fred Bennett and
Vice President Mike Fredrickson

Port Responsibilities
    Public port districts are authorized by state law to undertake many activities to enhance the economic welfare of local communities. These regulations authorize the Port of Walla Walla to:

  • Develop waterfronts, airports and other facilities for handling cargo and passengers.
  • Provide capital improvements needed for industrial and manufacturing facilities within the Port District.
  • Improve Port District lands so they can be sold or leased for industrial and commercial purposes.
  • Aquire, construct, install, improve and operate sewer and water utilities to serve its own properties and that of other property owners.
  • Execute business recruitment strategies.
  • Levy taxes and sell bonds to develop properties and manufacturing facilities.

Port Leadership
    The Port of Walla Walla has three elected commissioners who represent you...the shareholders. The commissioners are Dr. Fred Bennett, president; Mike Fredrickson, vice president; and Paul Schneidmiller, secretary.
    While all commissioners are elected on a countywide basis, each must live in a specific commissioner district within Walla Walla County. The districts are the same as Walla Walla county commissioner districts.
    Dr. Bennett, a retired Walla Walla College professor of engineering, represents District 3, including College Place, Touchet, Lowden, Burbank, Eureka, Clyde and the western part of the county.

    Fredrickson, managing member of Associated Appraisers of Walla Walla LLC, represents District 2, which includes the eastern third of the City of Walla Walla, Dixie, Waitsburg and Prescott.
    Schneidmiller, president of World Wide Travel Service, Inc., represents District 1, which encompasses more than half the City of Walla Walla and the Stateline area.
    Each commissioner serves a six-year term. Terms are staggered so that one position is up for election every two years.
    Commissioners decide each year who will hold the offices of president, vice president and secretary.
    Port of Walla Walla Commissioners, and those at other Ports with similar business volume, are entitled to $104 per day compensation for each day or portion of a day spent attending meetings or performing other services on behalf of the Port District.
    The law prohibits commissioners from receiving more than $9,984 per year in such compensation. In addition, Port Commissioners receive a salary of up to $750 per month.

Port Finances
    Ports may levy, without a public vote, a property tax of no more than 45-cents per $1,000 of assessed property valuation for general Port purposes.

The Port District receives only 15 percent of its revenues from property taxes.
    Washington State law provides for Port Commissioners to designate administrative powers and duties to the managing official of the Port District. This is done with a Port Commission resolution establishing guidelines and procedures for the managing official to follow.
    In that manner, the Executive Director and his or her staff can perform their duties in a timely and efficient manner. Still, as policy makers, Port commissioners remain responsible for district operations.
    Regular Port of Walla Walla Commission meetings are at 1:00 p.m. on the second Thursday and 6:00 p.m. on the fourth Thursday of each month at the Port office.

Port of Walla Walla Budget
2009 Projected Revenues • $10,868,604
2008 Projected Revenues
2009 Projected Expenses • $13,693,981
2008 Projected Expenses

The Port has established reserve funds for the Port and Airport. The Port utilizes these reserves to assist with financing capital improvements.

Port of Walla Walla Staff
Jim Kuntz
Executive Director
Paul Gerola
Economic Development Director
Jennifer Skoglund
Assistant Airport Manager
Administrative Services
Gary Stewart
Maintenance & Operations Supervisor
Ken Clayton
Airport Security Coordinator
Anna Christen
Auditor/ Treasurer
Becky Hulse
Executive Assistant
June Meiners
Jackie Lancaster
Finance Assistant
Jackie Hardesty
Finance Assistant
Darren Brinson
Louis Gagnon
Terry Dickerson
Brian Hurst
Elias Alonso
Dale Peterson
Summer Crew
Marcello Sotelo
Summer Crew
Neil Henze
Summer Crew
Walla Walla Area
Small Business Center
Rich Monacelli
Phone: 509-527-4681
Port of Walla Walla Watch
Carl Tyler
Port of Walla Walla
310 A Street
Walla Walla Regional Airport
Walla Walla, Washington
Phone: 509-525-3100
Fax: 509-525-3101
Jump to Page: 1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8

Copyright © 2002 Port of Walla Walla. All Rights Reserved. Terms of Use
Web Site Design by Walla Walla Web Weavers